the book about you

I was thinking about things and stuff (which I seem to do a lot)… my thoughts went from the narcissism I see on FaceBook, to personal relationships, to family generations, to memories.

Then it dawned on me.

The memory of ME, of who I am, and how I was, and impacted other people will last probably no longer than about 3 generations.

It’ll basically end with my kid’s kids.

Then I thought about all the people in my family that I never knew, or wanted to know in a different way, like my dad’s mom.  She died before I was 20, and from what I remember, she was kind, dynamic and always smiling… the kind of person I wish I had more of now.
Then I was thinking about, even though she’s not alive anymore, how nice it would have been to at least KNOW her, her thoughts, her feelings, etc.
THEN I thought, how cool it would have been, had she been alive in this day and age to have a blog.  Because face it, that’s really the best way to get to know someone, assuming they’re telling the truth about themselves in the first place, you know?

So then my thoughts basically came down to this.

People that write personal blogs, should publish their blogs to a book.

Not to sell, but to keep, like a photo album, for your future family members.

Think about it.  You could tell them all kinds of things, what’s going on in the world now and how it impacted you, etc… your kids and their kids could get to know you, without you even being there.

There’s a site that does that, too, well, it’s in beta now, but it’s coming

Blurb self publishing

I think it’s a fantastic idea, and I’ll probably have this done when I’m old and hate people and have a cabin in Montana with no running water or electricity 🙂

Leave a Reply

